Oct. 2015 Acoustic Thought book
64 pages (hardcover)
170 × 255 mm
Offset lithography
ISBN 978-94-92139-05-4

Acoustic Thought by Snejanka Mihaylova is a poetic exegesis of the Gospel of Thomas, an apocryphal gospel found at Nag Hammadi in Upper Egypt in 1945, containing 114 sayings of Jesus. According to Mihaylova, the Gospel of Thomas “is a poem that listens, where the written is not simply the record of a voice but a radically different dimension of cognition that emerges as an acoustic realm in the formation of thoughts.”

Written by Snejanka Mihaylova; edited with and designed by Philip Baber. With a score for six female voices by Lisa Holmqvist (performed during Performance Days, Amsterdam, November 2014) and photographs by Jeff Weber, made during a research period at Beirut project space, Cairo. The English manuscript was first edited by Joe Kelleher.

Commissioned and co-published by If I Can’t Dance, I Don’t Want To Be Part Of Your Revolution as part of Edition V – Appropriation and Dedication (2013–2014), with the curatorial support of Frédérique Bergholtz and Tanja Baudoin.

Included in the exhibition Hotel Theory at REDCAT, Los Angeles.

€20 + shipping

Ship to

Distributed by Idea Books in selected bookshops worldwide.